![]() |
I've been robbed by iRegistrations.com
Could somebody please tell me who has the jurisdiction to stop and punish iRegistrations?
I registered two $5.95 domains with iRegistrations.com, one .com(5/23) and one .org(6/3), and brought myself a nightmare. I didn't find it until 9/20 that iRegistrations had billed my credit cards for at least four times: 7/2, 7/23, 8/1, 9/20, each time for $39.98! I filed a chargeback to each credit card bank (unfortunately, I used different cards to reg the two names), and sent an e-mail to iRegistrations.com to ask them for explanation(9/20). There was no reply, and some days later, I found I could no longer login both my domain accounts at iRegistrations.com, and when I checked the WHOIS, I was surprised to find that iRegistrations had taken the .com domain back, the registrar was eNom (!!), and 'iRegistrations Credit Control' became the registrant, as for the .org, it simply turned out 'no match'. To put everything together, I found that if you change the name servers and cancel the hosting service of your domain name with iRegistrations, they would change them back later and when you try to login the domain account again, you would receive an error mwssage. If you contact them for the problem like I did, they would reply in a week or so, telling you "It works perfectly to me." You would try again, and it works, so you modify the NS and hosting options again, and this is beyond their toleraance, they decide to punish such a stubbon coustomer, and the domain name would be locked and go to iRegistrations Credit Control, thus months after you registered it, you are no longer the legal owner of the domain name. In the meantime, they would still keep billing your credit card, once a month, $19.99 each domain name, including those they have taken away from you. If you try to contact them via e-mails, you can only do it on their website, and there would be no reply nor any records. The most ironic thing is, when I tried to reg my third domain names with iRregistrations earlier, they wouldn't take my credit card, for it's issued in Taiwan! But later when they were stealing from me, it never bothered them at all. I have submitted an InterNIC Registrar Problem Report, and reported it to the ACCC, please tell me what else can I do now? Quote:
And for the .ORG: Quote:
|
Re: I've been robbed by iRegistrations.com
Quote:
Quote:
You filed a chargeback and then were surprised you couldn't log into your domains? Thing is that this company does offer low cost domains, but they do it by coupling it with other services (web hosting). You saw the $5.95 and stopped reading. Other web hosts offer free domain registration when you sign up for a plan, but you can't stop reading after "Free domain registration!" I'm not sure what to tell you, other than to read more carefully next time. Sometimes all that stuff that everyone scrolls down past and clicks OK to is actually important. |
Heh, if you file a chargeback you think the company is going to welcome you with open arms?
Pfft!! |
People do need to understand that a chargeback is something that should be used as a last resort, not the first thing you should do. You can't inititiate a chargeback and then try to discuss it. It's done, and you may have dinged them for an additional $25-ish fee.
|
I gave them one whole month to reply, but they just blocked my accounts and took the domains away without a single word (All these happened BEFORE I filed any chargebacks!). And now, they are selling iRegistrations.com on eBay UK.
I can tell when I see a scam, but some people just can't. |
I agree with Chicken that you have to read the fine print and with the other things he said.
However, in my opinion, this is a trap. (like putting a speed limit sign where it can be seen but easily missed) On the first page they obviously display the cheap registration with no conditions (A reputable retailer would price with $5.95* where the * would list additional conditions, such as after rebate, or costs). EDIT: The condition turns out in this case to be a free one month trial that starts charging you if you don't say stop. You don't have a say about taking the trial. So this is probably not a "$5.95*" kind of thing but they should ask you to accept or regect the trial. If you click on "learn more" you go to a second page that throws the price in your face again but no mention of conditions. Only in the registration process, after providing all the registration information do you reach this page: Quote:
IMHO, this is a major speed trap, uh, scam. It is a practice that we, representatives of the hosting industry, should condemn. You decide. |
Nobody cares to express an opinion?
a) Acceptable business practice. b) Not an acceptable business practice. |
Well, there's a fine line between 'creative marketing' and trying as hard as possible to hide things that shouldn't be hidden. I believe there is an agency that oversees this sort of thing. Most of us will make a decision (on whether it is acceptable or not), based on how we feel as consumers. This is how we'd want the information presented, etc.
First and foremost, do they provide what is advertised? If they do, then I think that's a step in the 'acceptable' direction. They do 'offer' some addon services, which are given automatically. This type of thing is practiced by other industries, though an example escapes me at the moment. I have seen free services offered which turn into pay services if you don't cancel. I suppose many trial offers fall into this category. Quote:
Maybe you weren't specific enough (initial post), so that we cold understand the timeline of events. |
You can't just miss out vital bits of info and then expect us to automatically guess and know what you're going on about and going through.
|
here is what i show for .com...
http://www.registerbuzz.com/whois/in...XXXXX&tld=.com hope that helps. - g |
His domain isn't xxxxxx.com .
|
See this web page for the people who might be behind iRegistrations.com:
http://whatsinaname.com.au/slammers/ Josh |
Josh, what in the heck is that diagram??? I think I'd have to print that out and study that (and the text, which doesn't clear it up) for a few hours to begin to understand that.
|
Quote:
Start here: http://www.whatsinaname.com.au/slammers/#start Josh |
That's helpful, though it would still take quite some time to go through it. At least no one can accuse you of not being thorough and not doing research :D
|
| All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:18 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2002-2007 HostHideout.com