GordonH
01-27-07, 11:21 PM
Here is an email I sent to the abuse address in their ARIN who is entry:
Hello
We are an ISP in the UK.
We recently received an order for web hosting for the domain name
powmf.org.
This domain has been used in previos advance fee frauds:
http://www.google.com/search?q=powmf.org
The order was placed using a stolen credit card.
The order appears to have come from within your network:
131.107.64.93
You may want to investigate any security issues with that machine.
Regards
Gordon Hudson
Hostroute.com Ltd
www.hostroute.net
Here is their reply (received two days later so there must have been some sort of human intervention):
Hello Gordon,
Thank you for contacting Microsoft Online Customer Service.
I understand from your e-mail that you receive an order for web hosting claiming to be from Microsoft network. I realize the importance of the issue.
From the information you have provided in your message, I found that you are located in United Kingdom. If you have purchased the Microsoft product in United Kingdom, your best resource for support is the Microsoft United Kingdom subsidiary.
There are significant programming differences between North American and localized versions of software. You will be best assisted by the subsidiary that specializes in the version. You may contact the subsidiary in United Kingdom at (011)(44) 0870 60 10 100.
You may also visit their web site at:
http://www.microsoft.com/UK/
Gordon, I hope your issue gets resolved soon and appreciate your patience in this regard.
Thank you for using Microsoft products and services.
Anuradha
Microsoft Online Customer Service Representative
Hello
We are an ISP in the UK.
We recently received an order for web hosting for the domain name
powmf.org.
This domain has been used in previos advance fee frauds:
http://www.google.com/search?q=powmf.org
The order was placed using a stolen credit card.
The order appears to have come from within your network:
131.107.64.93
You may want to investigate any security issues with that machine.
Regards
Gordon Hudson
Hostroute.com Ltd
www.hostroute.net
Here is their reply (received two days later so there must have been some sort of human intervention):
Hello Gordon,
Thank you for contacting Microsoft Online Customer Service.
I understand from your e-mail that you receive an order for web hosting claiming to be from Microsoft network. I realize the importance of the issue.
From the information you have provided in your message, I found that you are located in United Kingdom. If you have purchased the Microsoft product in United Kingdom, your best resource for support is the Microsoft United Kingdom subsidiary.
There are significant programming differences between North American and localized versions of software. You will be best assisted by the subsidiary that specializes in the version. You may contact the subsidiary in United Kingdom at (011)(44) 0870 60 10 100.
You may also visit their web site at:
http://www.microsoft.com/UK/
Gordon, I hope your issue gets resolved soon and appreciate your patience in this regard.
Thank you for using Microsoft products and services.
Anuradha
Microsoft Online Customer Service Representative