PDA

View Full Version : Porn site weirdness


allan
07-02-03, 05:54 PM
For some reason, I am suddenly receiving a bunch of porn site referrals in my logs. Yesterday I had 11,408 requests from various porn sites for my webalizer directory.

They look like legitamite referrals, but WHY?


80.142.183.30 - - [01/Jul/2003:07:29:36 -0400] "GET http://www.allan.org/webaliz
er/ HTTP/1.1" 200 10120 "http://free-*******.org" "-"
213.64.38.110 - - [01/Jul/2003:07:29:43 -0400] "GET /webalizer/ HTTP/1.1" 200 10
120 "http://www.anime-******.us/" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.5; Windows 98
; Win 9x 4.90)"


I've never bothered to password protect my webalizer directory, because I didn't care who saw the stats for my personal site. I have now password protected it...but a couple of things are still bugging me.

The first is:

WHY?

The second is, is there a way to block them from hitting my site at all? I know I can .htaccess their porn toting butts, but I want to stop them before the Apache daemon even sees the request -- something at the IPTables level.

Any thoughts?

Chicken
07-02-03, 06:32 PM
IP Chains would probably do it, though don't ask me about it. A long time ago I needed it and it wasan't installed on the server, and I never bothered to install it, and... ask someone else. :D

S3G
07-02-03, 07:17 PM
Just a guess... But is your webalizer listed in Google? If so they could be hammering your site so that they get a backlink from you.

allan
07-02-03, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by S3G:

Just a guess... But is your webalizer listed in Google? If so they could be hammering your site so that they get a backlink from you.

Probably, I don't worry too much about Google (other than making sure the site stays in the top 10 search for "allan" :D). So, they are hammering me in order to receive a linkback?

Well, problem solved -- they'll have to hammer somehwhere else ;).

MMiz
07-02-03, 07:25 PM
Okay,

Im gonna take a stab at this one. This is going to sound absolutely crazy, but I keep hearing it over and over again on a whole bunch of host support forums, from mods and hosts too. It sounds so foolish to me, but you can take it how you want.

They say its a new way of spamming, not via email, but through referrer logs.

Does that make any sense? I didnt think so. Ill have to come back and reply with some links to the forums when I remember them by name, I sure I will.

-Matt

David
07-02-03, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by MMiz:
They say its a new way of spamming, not via email, but through referrer logs.
Sure, it makes sense.

If allan recieved an e-mail from http:// free-******* .org or http:// www.anime-****** .us he would just delete it, or the spam filter would. Look what happened with it in his refer logs. Now we all know those two urls.