PDA

View Full Version : Beware of Fake Paypal Sites


allan
05-23-03, 07:22 PM
http://198.65.157.206/

Verio has been contacted:


vbind.com /home/allan#whois -h whois.arin.net 198.65.157.206
[whois.arin.net]

OrgName: Verio, Inc.
OrgID: VRIO
Address: 8005 South Chester Street
Address: Suite 200
City: Englewood
StateProv: CO
PostalCode: 80112
Country: US

NetRange: 198.63.0.0 - 198.66.255.255
CIDR: 198.63.0.0/16, 198.64.0.0/15, 198.66.0.0/16
NetName: VRIO-198-063
NetHandle: NET-198-63-0-0-1
Parent: NET-198-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS0.VERIO.NET
NameServer: NS1.VERIO.NET
NameServer: NS2.VERIO.NET
Comment: *Rwhois information on assignments from this block available
Comment: at rwhois.verio.net port 4321
RegDate: 2000-07-26
Updated: 2001-09-26

markblair
05-23-03, 07:35 PM
Have you notified PayPal? I'd let them know too as this can be a huge problem.

allan
05-23-03, 07:36 PM
Yes, I cc'd Paypal on my mail to Verio.

suppleSupport
05-24-03, 12:29 AM
Down already :)

though there are many more out there...

allan
05-27-03, 02:49 AM
More on this topic:

http://www.securityfocus.com/news/5039

proxy
06-12-03, 02:04 AM
OMG! i entered my username and password on that link, damn i should have read the thread before i clicked on the link!

allan
06-12-03, 03:11 AM
Originally posted by proxy:

OMG! i entered my username and password on that link, damn i should have read the thread before i clicked on the link!

That's a good philosophy and we recommend all users adopt it: Always read HHO before you do anything :D.