PDA

View Full Version : Little true story about fusion3k.com


101sales
05-03-03, 10:28 PM
Heres the story of another featureprice waiting to happen - you'll see why after you read through it :D
This is a true story and the pickle one of my clients is in right now.

==============================

Fusion3k.com.... Ever heard of them.

Here's the story..... They currently hold my clients domain name and are holding it for ransom. Fusion3k server's went down when he still had a domain name that was registered. The domain name xpired during the period that the server was down and no one was answering emails or phones. Since the client had no access to his domain registration control panel supplied by the webhost he couldn't renew. Frankly the webhost probably prevented it from happening anyway. And Now 1 - 2 months later the webhost comes up with this great idea that he'll install a new server but charge all of his stranded dead clients a $25 site transfer fee to his new upgraded server with higher monthly payments untop of this transfer fee. The new servers just went live a couple days ago however it appears they are just as slow as the other ones. You have to wonder if they are running off of a dial-up because the new servers (they claim) are 2.0Ghz machines. Checked their domain and it is infact running from Rackshack.
In this particular situation when asked who owned the domains he said "the clients" but he would not let the client transfer the domain out of his control without paying a $30 transfer fee plus the renewal of the domain name at $15. So it sounds like $45 to get their domain name back. Funny thing is this wasn't stated up front - we had to peal back layers like an onion and everytime we peeled one more layer back our eyes watered even more. As it stands at the moment we think $45 will liberate the domain name, we're waiting for the next tearful layer to be pulled back - so here we sit with baited breath trying not to get too close to that stinking onion. I'm tempted to ask him if he thinks this is funny or if this is the way he normally extorts his clients. Anybody have any friends in the IRS who'd be interested in making a phonecall? And while were at it does anyone think theres a class action lawsuit brewing? They have absolutely no Terms of Service displayed on their site. I could on....

So, has anybody heard about these guys and if so what is their story?

EDIT:

After doing some emailing, digging - I found out that they have several boxes colo'ed at featureprice?? Additionally the host told me featureprice is not shutting down and that he's good buddies with Travis. That would explain the business ethics.

proxy
05-04-03, 04:14 AM
eeek, sounds like a messy situation to me!

Chicken
05-04-03, 07:39 AM
Does sound messy. One of those things where you grin and take it up the donkey and then try to make their life a living hell I suppose. That is, if the domain is worth something to you ('you' meaning...), which it seems it is. The domain isn't worth anything to them, they could care less (obviously).

Robert
05-04-03, 07:45 AM
Because of their business methods, I highly doubt they are ICANN Certified, hence they must have purchased the domains through another company. Simply find out who they registered the domain through and contact that company directly (via the telephone). Make sure the WHOIS displays your clients information and the email on the WHOIS belongs to your client.

101sales
05-04-03, 09:48 AM
Ya, that was the first thing we did. They're an OnlineNIC reseller. Because OnlineNIC strictly offers reseller accounts there is no way to contact them regarding the possession of the domain name.

When you do a whois on it gwgraphics.com there is no whois info. They've taken out all the contact information.

So the conclusion to this story is the domain has now entered the "Redemption Period" so we must wait 60 days until this period is up or else we'll be paying a hefty $120 redemption fee to Verisign. :uzi2:

1000rpm
05-04-03, 12:22 PM
That's too bad, I was going to offer you to transfer the domain to my OnlineNIC account to escape this fraudster. Sorry to hear the prediciment he has left you in.

101sales
05-04-03, 01:07 PM
Thanks for the offer, too bad it had expired.

Anyway we've go it on our GoDaddy watch list as soon as it's available again.